HEAV Convention

Last week my family and I headed up to Richmond for the Annual HEAV Convention. This year was their 30 year celebration. It was our first time and I was able to learn some new things and see some things I had never seen before. I would have loved to post pictures of the actual convention, but none were taken. It was too cold. But, I’ll do better next year though!

Official Convention Booklet of 2013

We were there for 3 days. On Thursday my dad, sister and I went to a Q&A with Colin Gunn the maker of a documentary called; “Indoctrination.” I’ve seen the movie and it’s really good. If you haven’t seen it go check it out! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I didn’t ask any questions because I’m a little shy around people I don’t know and I really didn’t know what to ask sooo… that was Thursday. Besides the Q& A, ย we all sat in a ย “Prep For High School” session. (not of much interest to a soon to be senior!! Woo-hoo!) ๐Ÿ˜€

Then on Friday, I went to another Q&A ย for “Aspiring Writers with Rachel Coker.” This was very encouraging and inspiring for me, because I am a creative writer but I kind of slacked off once I started blogging. But after the session and hearing her speak, it was kind of like a jump-start for me to get back into creative writing. So, thanks Rachel!

My Nametag

They gave us name tags. Don’t ya just love name tags?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Then my mother, sister, myself and two ladies from our church headed over to the Ballroom building to sit in on the “Mother-Daughter Q&A with Michelle Duggar and Daughters” It was nice. I was hungry, but it was nice. I enjoyed hearing Mrs. Michelle speak. She has a beautiful voice.

Later that afternoon, my family and I were supposed to go see the whole Duggar family but that didn’t happen because we accidentally left the tickets ย in the hotel room. But I wasn’t disappointed. I was content seeing Michelle Duggar and her daughters. So my mom went to a session by herself and my sister and I went with my dad to get something to eat.

Our last session of the day was “The Socialization Deception” by Jonathan Lewis. (This was not a Q&A) ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a good session however, it was the end of the day and I was getting sleepy. It’s hard to stay awake when they have the thermostat on a max of 0* degrees! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

I’ve made this post long enough. I’ll have to continue the rest in another post. All that I have covered so far are the sessions I sat in on. I didn’t even mention the sight-seeing! That is definitely a whole ‘nother story! ๐Ÿ˜‰

To Be Continued…

~Mekenna

One thought on “HEAV Convention

  1. Pingback: HEAV Convention (Cont’d) | Jesus, My Bible and I

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

