Tuesday Night Dinner

Cooking

An aspect of being a wife and mother is cooking for your family. My mother is teaching  me how to plan, prepare and serve food for my family. So on Tuesday, I fixed dinner. I have fixed meals before but this time was different.

Mekenna's Meal 6-26-13

It was different, because I did it with no assistance from my mother.  And everyone liked it. Previously, when I fixed meals I didn’t try to use my own judgement, so my mother was always involved. Not that I don’t want her guidance, but I do have to learn how to think on my own. Using discernment and good judgement is important because, one day (Lord-willing) I’ll have my very own family. I’ll have to feed and take care of them on my own and Mom might  not be there to help.

Another reason it was different was because there always something wrong with the dish–except for one time when I fixed some awesome steak. 🙂 But yeah. There was either too much of this or not enough of that. You know?

However, now that I have succeeded in making this dish, I feel better about cooking. I look forward to introducing new and different dishes to my family. We tend to eat the same types of food a lot. Over and over. I know this is a kind of unrelated question but, do you know what food  I can’t stand? 😕

Mixed vegetables. The frozen ones you get from the store. Ugh, how I despise them! 😡

January 23, 2015: This is an update! I do not despise mixed veggies anymore…I eventually realized that I couldn’t stand the brand my mother was buying at the time. She now buys organic frozen veggies from our bulk store and I LOVE them! 😀

I think that’ll be my next meal. (Part of it at least) I will get some fresh vegetables. Then I’ll find a recipe for the prefect seasoning for mixed veggies. Yep, that’s what I’m gonna do!

I’ll defeat and conquer those wretched frozen mixed vegetables!!!

 

Okay that’s all for today.

~Mekenna

P.S. If you would like to see the recipe I used for my Enchilada Casserole click here.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Night Dinner

  1. Cooking is one of the best things to learn in preparing for a family of your own. After all everyone has to eat, right? I love cooking and trying different recipes. It is so fun to think that these skills will be such a blessing to our future families and even to our families now. Have lots of fun and enjoy cooking for your family 🙂

    Like

  2. Hello, I find your blog encouraging. I hope that you keep focused on the Lord and strengthening all of the talents the lord has provided you. It is great to prepare to be a wife, but improving your other gifts is also important. I also believe that it is important to enjoy where you are. You are young, please enjoy these times as well. Making the best of what the Lord has given you.

    Philippians 4:11-13 11Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

    Like

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

