Submission to the LORD

Welcome to the Submission Series!!

Submission to the LORD

Submission to the LORD

Let’s begin…

What is submission?

The Holman Illustrated Bible Dictionary defines submission as;

  • Voluntary placement of oneself under the authority and leadership of another…In divinely ordained relationships, submission enables a unique Christian harmony, based on God’s good design.
Did You Know?

All human beings are required to submit to God. 

Deuteronomy 6:1-9 ESV: “Now this is the commandment—the statutes and the rules—that the LORD your God commanded me to teach you, that you may do them in the land to which you are going over, to possess it, that you may fear the LORD your God, you and your son and your son’s son, by keeping all his statutes and his commandments, which I command you, all the days of your life, and that your days may be long. Hear therefore, O Israel, and be careful to do them, that it may go well with you, and that you may multiply greatly, as the LORD, the God of your fathers, has promised you, in a land flowing with milk and honey.

“Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

Isaiah 45:23 ESV: By myself I have sworn; from my mouth has gone out in righteousness a word that shall not return: ‘To me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear allegiance.’

1 John 2:3-6 ESV: And by this we know that we have come to know him, if we keep his commandments. Whoever says “I know him” but does not keep his commandments is a liar, and the truth is not in him, but whoever keeps his word, in him truly the love of God is perfected. By this we may know that we are in him: whoever says he abides in him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked.

How Do We Submit to God?

John 14:15 ESV: “If you love me, you will keep my commandments.”

“Submission is  an act of  obedience to God, and it never runs counter to God’s Word” (Dictionary of Everyday Theology and Culture)

Well, this is it for part one. It’s a pretty simple doctrine for those who are in the faith because, “…without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.” (Hebrews 11:6 ESV) If you are a true believer in Christ and you love Him then you will do your very best to keep His commandments and submit to His authority.

Amen? Amen!

Enjoy the rest of your day 

 Mekenna 😉

5 thoughts on “Submission to the LORD

    • Thanks Mrs. Sherry!! Sorry it took so long to respond. My computer is in a coma. I haven’t seen your blog yet but I’m sure it’s great and I would love to guest post on it!! Thanks so much!
      Mekenna

      Like

  1. Pingback: Submission to Parents/ Guardians | Jesus, My Bible and I

  2. Pingback: Submission to Government | Jesus, My Bible and I

  3. Pingback: Submission to Head of the Home | Jesus, My Bible & I

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

