Why I’m Comfortable with my Kids being “Un-socialized”

I came across this blog post while reading another blog. When I saw the title, I immediately became curious because my parents, my sister and I get questions about “socialization” from people quite frequently whenever we mention that we’re homeschooled. So I wanted to share it with my readers because the author Kasey explains her beliefs and choices so well. And her beliefs and choices are actually very similar to the ones of  my home.

As a homeschooler, I hear it all the time.  The sometimes well-intentioned (other times mean-spirited) questions regarding how I ensure my children are properly socialized.  Here’s my straight answer…I don’t.
I’m okay if they receive a sub-standard education in the ways of modern-day youth.  I don’t mind admitting that I’m actively “sheltering” my kids from associations that will do nothing but harm their own characters.  And I won’t apologize for it.  I’m not a snob–I’m simply a mother who takes the task of raising her children very seriously and who knows how easy it is to step off the path into complacency.
 
I don’t mind if my kids don’t learn to cuss.  My oldest child dipped his toe in the nasty habit a few years back and it took some serious praying and intentional heart-to-hearts to penetrate his impressionable mind on the matter.  I’m perfectly content to count his battle a victory and give all glory to God.  But I’m not eager to wage war against a filthy mouth again anytime soon.
 
More…
 
Enjoy!!
~Mekenna
Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

