Are You Going to College?

College

 

So here I am about to graduate. Finishing out my academics and moving on to adulthood. And the most frequently asked question has been and  will be…

  • Are you planning on going to college? ❓

 No.

Why?

I am not going to college for various reasons.  In my explanation of these reasons I have help from a very good book called So Much More authored by Anna Sofia & Elizabeth Botkin. 

Unsafe

“For young women, college campuses have become dangerous places of ongoing anxiety, wasted years, mental defilement, and moral derangement. The wisdom and discernment they bring with them to the campuses are not strengthened, but taken from them.” Why leave the protection of my father’s home to a four-year life on a college campus with dangers unknown? Just sayin’ 😉

“The College Experience”

“The modern college experience can help one succeed in a certain kind of artificial life that is independent of the Christian institutions of family, church, and limited biblical government.” In my opinion and in my case it is unnecessary for me to pursue a college degree. My “career” goal is to be a wife and mother. What will college teach me about being a wife and a mother that my own mother cannot teach me? 

“Many people have never thought of an alternative for the bright, gifted girl. Some think that an environment of debauchery is an necessary initiation for real life. Well, occasional brushes with danger do tend to strengthen character, but long term immersion in an environment of false religious ideas can destroy good character and does corrupt morality.” Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.” (1 Corinthians 15:33 ESV) The world makes the “college experience” look so “awesome” but is it really? I’ve heard the testimonies of many who’ve gone to college and all the behind the scenes chaos. So if someone says, “Don’t you want to experience that college life?” Nah, I’m good. 😎

Education

“An education can be defined as the training and shaping of the heart, soul, mind, and strength.”

“Christian women have a duty to be highly, highly educated… The right education can make a Christian woman a powerful asset to her father’s estate and an even more powerful co-ruler of her her husband’s estate after she marries. The wrong education can pollute her mind, corrupt her heart, and make her useless as a tool for God’s glory. The wrong education can lead a young woman away from the blessings God may otherwise have bestowed on her…We are referring to the kind of education that makes us useful to God, in contrast to the schooling that makes a pupil useful to the State.” 

“Anything which affects our worldview and affections–in fact, anything which influences our hearts, souls, minds, or strength–is educational, whether for good or for evil. And this means that all education is inescapably religious.” 

Financial

I know that there are scholarships out there, but unless I get a full scholarship I’ll still have to cover the rest. “Just get a loan!” people say. I think not!! The Bible says, “The rich rules over the poor, and the borrower is the slave of the lender.” (Proverbs 22:7 ESV) I do not intend to get myself in debt to pursue a degree which amounts up to just a piece of paper in the end. There’s nothing wrong with pursuing higher education, but I am choosing to not to go about it the world’s way.

Going Against the Current

It has been ingrained into the minds of Americans that as soon as you finish high school it’s off to college! But wait a minute! Let’s back up here, who established that rule? As a Christian I want to take my commands on where to go and when to go in life from God, not the culture. Take a look at this Scripture.

“Build houses and live in them; plant gardens and eat their produce. Take wives and have sons and daughters; take wives for your sons, and give your daughters in marriage, that they may bear sons and daughters; multiply there, and do not decrease.” (Jeremiah 29:5-6 ESV)  When I read this Scripture it enforces my desire not to go to college even more because I feel like all the other unnecessary things that the world tries to make you feel like you have do is so complicated. This Scripture helps me to remember that life can be simple. 

Welp, those are my reasons for not desiring to go to college. I’m not saying going to college makes you a child of the Devil. I’m just choosing to take the road less glorified. Thanks for reading!

~Mekenna 😀

2 thoughts on “Are You Going to College?

  1. Pingback: “Are You Going to College ” Sequel | Jesus, My Bible & I

  2. Pingback: God’s Got This!:Education & Employment | Jesus, My Bible & I

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

