God’s Got This!:Education & Employment

keep-calm-because-god-s-got-this

Welcome to the “God’s Got This!” Series. You’ve just stumbled upon part one: Education & Employment. To read my announcement of this series click here.

Question 1: Are you going to college?

Answer: here.

Question 2: Then what are you going to do?

Answer: I am going to be a stay-at-home daughter.

Question 3: What is that?

Answer: For me a stay-at-home daughter is a young lady who aspires to spend her single years, as Jasmine Baucham put it, “in the beautiful environment of the home, under the wise guidance, counsel [and protection] of her father and mother.” (Quoted from “Joyfully at Home” by Jasmine Baucham)

Question 4: Are you planning to work anywhere? Oh wait–you can’t because you didn’t go to college? 😕

Answer: First of all,

A high school graduate+ a college education does not = a guaranteed job.

Let’s be realistic please! Second, yes I will be working but not outside the home. I aim to stay home and serve my parents. I cannot do this whole-heartedly if my attention is divided between home life and the outside workforce. (This does not mean  however, that I will not take part in “in-home” money-making activities such as selling items I make or baked goods.)

 Question 5: What will you be doing while you’re at home?

Answer: My goal, “what I want to be when I grow up” is a submissive wife and a nurturing mother to many children. The time I spend at home is meant to be a training ground. Sure, I believe in feminine instincts, but women are not born knowing how to biblically love and serve their husbands and children. That’s why in the book of Titus older women are instructed to,

“…train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.”(Titus 2:4-5 ESV)

Conclusion:

Ultimately when I look in the future I’m not looking at 5 years from now or even 10.  I’m focused on my grandchildren and my great-grandchildren. That’s called a multi-generational vision. How I prepare myself for married life and being a mother is sooo important! The saying, “the children are our future,” is a very true saying indeed. How I will parent my children will affect the future.

So, instead of spending MY single years pursing a career, doing missions trips in another country, or 4-6 years away at some institution, I have chosen to make a difference for Christ, right at home.

Thanks for reading! ~Mekenna 

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

