Ramblings of a Homeschool Grad

So I decided I wanted to do a post on my homeschool experience. What I loved most about it. 😉

I didn’t want to go to high school in the first place. So the thought of being homeschooled wasn’t much of a “shocker to the system” for me. I began my homeschool journey in the ninth grade and it wasn’t hard coping with the reality that I would not be attending a public school anymore. I didn’t want to attend public school anymore anyway because of how I was treated. Now don’t get me wrong I wasn’t “bullied” (habitually badgered and intimidated) in school. However, when you put a mass group of immature children together they behave like immature children. I was childishly teased for absurd and ridiculous reasons. (Some reasons I couldn’t’ help.) And I knew it would only get worse in high school. Thus, when my parents told me I was going to homeschooled my outside reaction was:

Acceptance | The 10 Stages Of Waiting In Line At Disneyland
But on the inside it was:

Anyways, like I said, my homeschool journey began when I was in the 9th grade and I enjoyed it. I’ve enjoyed every bit of the three years I spent learning from my mother and from myself during independent learning. Even when times got rough and my mom and I bumped heads…I wouldn’t trade it for anything public school could ever offer.

Another aspect of homeschooling that I enjoyed (continue to enjoy), is being able to hang out with my other homeschooled friends during the week instead of on Saturdays when everything and everywhere is crowded. Places like the mall, restaurants, the movies, the park– well actually the park is crowded sometimes with stay-at-home moms and their young children. 😉

 VS 

  • If the weather was bad I was glad I didn’t have to be outside waiting for a bus.
  • No more getting picked on because my only other classmate was my best friend–my sister. 😉
  • The way we homeschool involves a very flexible schedule. Our flexibility made it possible for us to be able to help others during the day.
  • Our flexibility also made it possible for any one of us to take a much needed nap. One time I took some allergy medicine before we started Math and I just couldn’t stay awake so I told my Mom, “Mom, I jus-I just need to go lay down for a little bit ok?” And that was a school day for me.  I also learned to never take a drowsy allergy medicine with the intentions of getting any accomplished, because you will not! 😀

So, these are few of the reasons why I loved being homeschooled, besides the biblical/spiritual reasons. That’s a whole ‘nother post! 😀 Thanks for reading!

~Mekenna

2 thoughts on “Ramblings of a Homeschool Grad

  1. Great post Mekenna. It’s always neat to be on the “other side” of something and reflecting back on what you’ve learned and how you’ve grown.

    Like

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

