God’s Got This!:What If ?

keep-calm-because-god-s-got-this

This segment of “God’s Got This!” will be geared towards all those “What If” questions.

1. What IfYou never get married?

Royalty-Free (RF) Wedding Clipart Illustration by BNP Design Studio - Stock Sample #435094

If I never marry, then I will continue to diligently serve the Lord in my father’s house. I find more ways to be active in my church. (… And the unmarried or betrothed woman is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to be holy in body and spirit. But the married woman is anxious about worldly things, how to please her husband. I say this for your own benefit, not to lay any restraint upon you, but to promote good order and to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord.
~1 Corinthians 7:34-35 ESV)

 

2. What If…You marry but your husband dies? (How will you support yourself and possible children?)

The Young Widow, 1877 Giclee Print by Edward Killingworth Johnson

My fathers says, “A man of God will make sure his wife and children would be taken care of if he were to unexpectedly pass away. However, ultimately if my future husband were to die that is when my faith in God and his providence should increase, not decrease. As Christians we are supposed to trust God with our futures, come what may.

 

3. What If… You can’t have children?

 

If I cannot physically bear children, then my future husband and I will consider adoption. (He gives the barren woman a home,making her the joyous mother of children.Praise the LORD! ~Psalm 113:9 ESV)

4.What if…Your husband can’t provide?

My future husband and I will trust God and do what needs to be done in accordance with God’s will and His standards.  (You who fear the LORD, trust in the LORD! He is their help and their shield. ~Psalm 115:11 ESV)

***

Conclusion: What happens in our lives are no surprise to an omnipotent God. He knows our pasts, presents, and our futures. The eleventh shorter catechism question reads:

Question: What is God’s Providence?

Answer: God’s providence is His completely holy, wise, powerful and preserving every creature and every action.

How could you or I not trust in the very God who created the universe in just six days, to be there for us in our times of need?

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.
“Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

(Matthew 6:25-34 ESV)

God’s Got This! Thus, I’ve decided not to worry about my tomorrow, because I know I’m in good hands. 😉

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow,  Because He lives, all fear is gone;  Because I know He holds the future,  And life is worth the living,  Just because He lives!

 

~Mekenna

 

 

 

 

 

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

