Naturally Curly

In my post about the changes I would be making to my blog, I mentioned posting about natural hair. This post is sort of the introduction to the posts that are soon to come. First I want to share a little background with you about my hair and my sister’s.

My hair:

When I was 12 I asked my mother to relax my hair. The relaxer did not goes as planned, and on top of that I butchered my hair by accident and my mother had to cut it so that it was even and what not. So I ended up growing out the relaxer and my hair is now medium length again thank the Lord! πŸ˜‰

2010 (12 yrs)

Hair “relaxed” 2010 (12 yrs) Don’t mind Jayla

πŸ˜‰
IMG_0989

March 2011 (13 yrs) Growing out the relaxer!


IMG_4236 (2)

2012ish (15 yrs…I think πŸ˜€ )

Jayla’s Hair:

Jayla has been au naturale all her life.

May 2011 (10yrs)

May 2011 (10yrs)


2011 (10yrs)

May 2011 (10yrs)


June 2012 (11yrs)

June 2012 (11yrs)


September 2012 (12yrs)

September 2012 (12yrs)

After our parents pulled us out of public school at ages 13 and 10, my sister and I decided that we wanted to take care and style our own hair. It was more of my sister’s idea than mine to retire our mother from doing our hair. My mother says we fired her but we prefer the term laid off. πŸ˜‰ Once Jayla got her own hands on her curls, she began mastering the skill to do hair. She’s really good at styling her hair. Me on the other hand, well that’s not my gift and I am just now getting the hang of flat-twisting and styling my own hair. I guess I’m a late bloomer in this area, but it’s ok. πŸ˜€

Flat Twist Out | 20 Effortless Styles For Growing Out Your Natural Hair #naturalhair

These are flat twists. I love doing flat-twists out on my hair. It’s a great protective hairstyle! **Picture courtesy of Pinterest**

So fast forward to ages 15 and 18 and we have grown–along with our hair– a great deal in our natural hair care journey.There is a vast amount of natural hair care information out there on the internet. However–rather than turning this into a natural hair go-to-site for hair care information–my goal is to share visuals of the different hairstyles that you can do on your own hair or daughter’s. This doesn’t mean I won’t share any natural hair care information. I just wanted it made known that my sister and I are not experts. We’re learning new things about our hair everyday.

I hope that my sister and I can be an inspiration to all the naturals who visit this site. Until next time!

M&J June 2014

Reminds me of my Grampa....who had STICK STRAIGHT hair! But he always jokingly said, "don't you just loooove my naturally curly hair?!"

 

*All pictures are courtesy of our beloved mother.

❀ Mekenna

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

