Lest You Fall

Therefore let anyone who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall.
(1 Corinthians 10:12 ESV)

Last night while my sister and I were reading It’s Not That Complicated by Anna Sophia and Elizabeth Botkin, I realized that I had fallen into the mindset of one who thinks they’d never fall into a “great” sin.

My sister and I were reading chapter six: Slaying the Inner Vamp. This was the convicting excerpt:

“A soon as we say in our hearts, ‘I’m not capable of doing that,’ we make ourselves more vulnerable…Feeling confident in our immunity and failing to arm ourselves fully against our weaknesses makes us more susceptible to these sins that creep up on us.” 

I’m grateful that the Lord opened my eyes to this. Not just in the area of sensuality, but also just being careful not to feel like I’m immune to certain sins because of my upbringing. I still have to put on the whole armor of God, and guard my heart as instructed in Scripture.

Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.
(Ephesians 6:11-13 ESV)

How can a young man keep his way pure?
By guarding it according to your word.
With my whole heart I seek you;
let me not wander from your commandments!
I have stored up your word in my heart,
that I might not sin against you.
(Psalm 119:9-11 ESV)

Well that was my short little tid bit for the day. I hope you got something from it. Enjoy your day and remember:

 Therefore let anyone who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall.
(1 Corinthians 10:12 ESV)

Mekenna ❤

3 thoughts on “Lest You Fall

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

