Uncertainty About the Future

Sometimes I sit and think about my future. What I hope to experience and take part in. However, I can only daydream to an extent, because those daydreams are always ended abruptly by the reality of uncertainty and God’s sovereignty.

There’s this song, by John P. Kee called Sovereign. Below is the first verse and chorus.

So many things we don’t know
Say it’s hard to let go
We must put all our trust in You

You will do what You say
If we trust and obey, I know that
Cause you have brought me through

My God will do what He wants to
Whenever He wants to, He is God

Sovereign, sovereign (8x)

The sovereignty of God is defined as: His absolute right to do all things according to His own good pleasure (Dan. 4:25, 35; Rom. 9:15-23; 1 Tim. 6:15; Rev. 4:11) (WebBible  Encyclopedia)

 

My futuristic dreaming almost always comes to this point and I didn’t know how to handle the emotions that would rise within me when I considered this unwavering truth: My God will do what He wants to
Whenever He wants to, He is God.

Just think about that for a moment. It can be a very comforting and exciting thought, and at the same time be frustrating and leave you feeling helpless. Because God is sovereign, He can bless me with what I desire most, and because God is sovereign He can choose to take it away. Who would I be to question Him?

If you were to stop right there, you’d be tempted to get mixed feelings about the God you serve. But we can’t stop right there because this is the almighty God we’re talking about here, not some tyrant! 🙂

Sovereignty is not the only attribute of God. He is also just, good, wise, all-knowing, merciful and so much more. And one must not forget that God is love (1 John 4:7-12) He is the only one who truly knows what is best for us. And He does what is best for us. Sometimes–well most of the times we don’t understand what He’s doing or why, because we can’t.

God is unfathomable, He’s too much for the human mind to comprehend. While it may be a little uncomfortable to not know what the future holds, it is a great comfort to know who holds the future.

I hope you enjoyed this post, I finally had some inspiration. I decided to post about something I struggled with. Writing about it really helped me to get back in the right perspective. Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

One thought on “Uncertainty About the Future

  1. Pingback: New Year, ____ Me? | Jesus, My Bible & I

Any comments, questions, or concerns? Feel free to share!

